Kill that anger before it kills you!

Just so you don’t feel like an alien, anger is a natural human emotion. It’s not a sin in itself but can result into one if not properly guarded and that’s exactly what the Bible teaches.    

 “If you become angry, do not let your anger lead  you into sin, and do not stay angry all day.”
         Ephesians 4:26 GNT     Consider Moses in the Old Testament, he had every right to be angry(especially if one is leading a “sturborn” set of people like the Israelites) and God didn’t condemn him for getting angry, but he did lost it when he allowed his angry get the better part of him. Striking the rock twice(out of annoyance) when God instructed him to just speak to it, was total disobedience & that resulted from his uncontrolled anger.    

‘Then the children of Israel, the whole congregation, came into the Wilderness of Zin in the first month, and the people stayed in Kadesh; and Miriam died there and was buried there. Now there was no water for the  congregation; so they gathered together against Moses and Aaron. And the  people contended with Moses and spoke, saying: “If only we had died when our brethren died before the LORD! Why have you brought up the assembly of the LORD into this wilderness, that we and our animals should die here? And why have you made us come up out of Egypt, to bring us to this evil place? It is not a place of grain or figs or vines or pomegranates; nor is there any water to drink.” So Moses and Aaron went from the presence of the assembly to the door of the  tabernacle of meeting, and they fell on their faces. And the glory of the LORD appeared to them. Then the LORD spoke to Moses, saying, “Take the rod; you and your brother Aaron gather the congregation together. Speak to the rock before their eyes, and it will yield its water; thus you shall bring water for them out of the rock, and give drink to the congregation and their animals.” So Moses took the rod from before the LORD as He commanded him. And Moses and Aaron gathered the assembly together before the rock; and he said to them, “Hear now, you rebels! Must we bring water for you out of this rock?” Then Moses lifted his hand and struck the rock twice with his rod; and water came out abundantly, and the congregation and their animals drank. Then the LORD spoke to Moses and Aaron, “Because you did not believe Me, to  hallow Me in the eyes of the children of  Israel, therefore you shall not bring this assembly into the land which I have given them”      Numbers 20:1-12 NKJV

  That singular act of disobedience prevented Moses from entering into the promise land.  

I totally remember how life was before I got saved, if anger ever had a resident…it was in my heart. In fact, anger was my second nature & I couldn’t just control my big mouth(cursing all around) when angered. At one time, I refused eating dinner because someone(actually, my aunty) made me angry. The truth was, there were times I was actually tired of being angry but(just like masturbating) I couldn’t help myself so I just kept right at it.  

“Therefore if you bring your gift to the  altar, and there remember that your brother has  something against you, leave your gift there  before the altar, and go your way. First be  reconciled to your brother, and then come and  offer your gift.” Matthew 5:23-24 NKJV  

Things turned around when I got saved, and I remember doing the “weirdest thing” ever via the help of God’s spirit- apologizing.

Although, my anger issue didn’t automatically go away but it took a shorter time to get over it and be at peace with whoever I was agree with. I also remembered one time when someone made me angry and the Holy Spirit told me to go apologize. I couldn’t believe my ears, I thought to myself…”this is totally unfair, this guy was at fault and going to apologize would make me look weak in his sight”. After much thought, I finally gave in to the Holy Spirit’s instruction and really, that was the coolest thing I ever did. It felt just good obeying and I had this great peace after I did.  

Thank God it’s gotten a lot better and easier these days.  

Oh, so do I still get angry? Sure, I do sometimes but it’s totally different nowadays because by the help of the Holy Spirit, I am able to curb it before it gets out of hands(leading to sin).

Recently I got a very wonderful way to dissipate my anger- by speaking in tongues. My dear, it works like magic!  

So the next you feel that anger in your stomach, try speaking in tongues and it will slowly but surely dissipate. Trust me. *wink*

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

